JEE Advanced 2013 Eligibility Criteria, Eligibility criteria for JEE Advanced 2013



Candidates who wish to appear in JEE Advanced 2013 must
have appeared for the JEE Main 2013 in the month of April 2013. Only top 1, 50,000 (one lakh fifty thousand) candidates including all categories who qualify JEE Main 2013 will be eligible for JEE Advanced 2013.

Division of top 1, 50,000 candidates across various categories is as follows:

Top 75750 (50.5 %) Common Merit List

Top 40500 (27%) Other Backward Classes-Non creamy layer OBC (NCL)

Top 22500 (15 %) Scheduled Caste (SC)

Top 11250 (7.5 %) Scheduled Tribe (ST)

3% of the total seats in each category are reserved for PD candidates as per the norms of Government of India.

Minimum Marks in Qualifying Examination (QE):

Admission to IITs and ISM Dhanbad will be based only on category wise All India Rank.

All India Rank (AIR) in JEE Advanced  2013, subject to the condition that such candidates are in the top 20 percentile of successful candidates of their Boards in respective categories. For candidates who passed their Board examination for the first time in 2012, the eligibility criteria for admission to any of the IITs or ISM Dhanbad is 60% marks (55% marks for SC/ST/PD) in their 12th Standard or equivalent Qualifying examination.

In case a Board does not provide the information regarding the cut-off for top 20 percentile of successful candidates, the candidate will have to produce a certificate from the concerned Board stating that he/she falls within the top 20 percentile. In case the percentile score is not available from any testing agency, the CBSE cut-off score for top 20 percentile for the student’s category will be used.
If the candidate fails to do so, then the CBSE percentile will be used as the criteria for deciding minimum percentage of marks in the qualifying examination.

If any Board awards only letter grades without providing an equivalent percentage of marks on the grade sheet, the candidate should obtain a certificate from the Board specifying the equivalent marks, and submit it at the time of counseling. In case such a certificate is not provided the decision taken by the Joint Implementation Committee (JIC) of JEE Advanced 2013 will be final.

Number of JEE Attempts:

A candidate can attempt JEE Advanced maximum two times in consecutive years. Candidates who had attempted IIT JEE 2012 for the first time (having passed QE in 2012) can appear in JEE (Advanced) - 2013, by qualifying in JEE Main 2013.

Those who attempted IIT-JEE in 2011 or earlier are NOT ELIGIBLE to appear in JEE Advance 2013.

More on JEE Advanced 2013:

Click here for JEE Mains 2013 Results.

Click here for JEE Mains 2013 Cut Off Marks and Rank Predictor.

Click here for JEE Advanced 2013 Admit Card Download.

JEE Advanced 2013 Eligibility Criteria, ELIGIBILITY FOR JEE Advanced 2013